Easy Chic: Button-Up Shirts

After waiting since January I finally received my backordered J. Crew gingham button-down this week — and none too soon! Upon returning home this past weekend, I found the newest edition of Vanity Fair on my bed, with none other than Grace Kelly on the cover, one of the actresses I was named after. (The other actress was comedian Gracie Allen, which explains a lot about my personality!)

A button-down looks as relevant in a photo from 1955 as it does in a 2010 Chloe advertisement, and wearing my shirt yesterday reaffirmed my love for this clean, stylish, shirt style. I’m planning on buying more to wear to school, which I can also pair with high waisted slacks or a pencil skirt for my many sorority functions. Try buying a tunic style to pair with leggings (either jean leggings or plain black) for traveling and going to school,  or a roomy boyfriend fit– a cut that looks great with the sleeves rolled up. I like peach-pink colors, gingham, or stripes for spring, as you can probably tell from the photos I pulled for the inspiration collage. I’m also on the lookout for a belted shirtdress– I’d love to wear it with a pair of light wedges this summer. I’ll post when I find it!

Clockwise from top right: J. Crew, Lauren Ralph Lauren, J. Crew, Elizabeth and James, and (center) Old Navy.

Have fun shopping!

Grace

One comment

  1. Pingback: Orange Bed Skirt

Leave a Reply

