White Top Essentials

I believe every girl should have at least 3 white shirts in her closet: the classic button-down blouse, a v-neck, and a tank that can transition between work and play.
 

3/4 sleeve stretch perfect shirt $58 at J.Crew.  Light Jersey Short Sleeve V-Neck $46 at Splendid.
Eileen Fisher Sleeveless Easy Shell $168 at Dillard’s.

 
 
The classic button-down can be paired with a suit or even a pair of slouchy boyfriend jeans. More than just a summer favorite, it’s a must-have item. Plenty of retailers carry the classic button-down to fit any budget. The important thing is to buy a classic shape, nothing too tight or too boxy, and the material should be of a high quality. Try stores like Gap, Banana Republic, J. Crew, and Express for classic looks. If you’re looking for something with more flair (and a higher price tag), try Anne Fontaine.
 
 

$18 and $7 available at jcrew.com

 
To keep it looking like new, send your shirt to the dry cleaner or wash it at home with the J. Crew Shirt Wash and Collars & Cuffs Stain Bar by The Laundress New York. Both will help maintain the shirt and get rid of any rings around the collar.

 

The standard v-neck shirt should be jersey or 100% cotton.  I like to buy a 2-pack of Hanes men’s undershirts for about $5 at Target for ultimate value.  I do love my Splendid and J. Crew v-necks, but I love that if I stain a Hanes shirt, I won’t be heartbroken.

 

I adore clothing that can transition between work and play for ultimate versatility.  That’s why I love white sleeveless blouses.  I can throw on a cardigan or blazer on top and I’m ready for work. And alternatively, I can even wear it with jeans and sandals and it’s a perfect outfit for a day out.  We all love having a full wardrobe but with money still in the bank, so transition pieces are key.

 

Have fun shopping!

 

Robin

Leave a Reply

