The Oxford Shoe Guide

The Oxford Shoe Guide, via Dressed in Orange

J. Crew Camden Suede Brogues $250. Urban Outfitters Chelsea Crew Perforated Oxford $68. Steve Madden Trouser Oxford $69. Envy Tango Oxford $59.95. Xhilaration Taree Oxford Shoes $19.99. Coconuts Byron Oxfords $59.

Like many girls, I have a great love affair with shoes. My most recent obsession has been oxfords, or brogues. I’ve been on the hunt for the perfect pair of oxford flats for about a year trying on dozens of styles and I have yet to find one that’s just right.

Though oxfords come in countless styles, my heart is set on the classic oxford. Still, the choices are endless. The oxfords shown above range from faux leather oxfords from Target for $20 to suede beauties from J. Crew for a whopping $250 (These were worn by Serena in the season premiere of Gossip Girl!). But then what color to choose? I’ve been on the fence between black and brown for what seems like a century, but I’ve finally decided on gray. It’s a perfect neutral that can go with an outfit that would normally call for brown or black shoes – it can go with them all!

I just purchased a pair from dsw.com (the pair shown in the second row on the right) in gray. I’m eagerly awaiting it’s arrival. I’m crossing my fingers for satisfaction so I don’t have to return them dejectedly to the store. I’ll post a review of the shoes when they arrive.

Friends have asked me what to wear with oxfords. There are plenty of options! Cropped pants, skinny jeans, leggings, tights, shorts, skirts, dresses – it’s really all about the styling. Here aew a few celebrities in oxfords:

Click to enlarge

Taylor Swift, Sienna Miller, Olivia Palermo, Alexa Chung, Jessica Biel.

Hopefully I’ll find the perfect pair soon!

2 comments

Leave a Reply

