Weekend Recipe: Frittata

Veggie Frittata, via Dressed In Orange

When having friends over for brunch (or any other meal), I sometimes go overboard with the menu.  My ambition usually gets the best of me and I end up spending more time prepping in the kitchen than socializing with guests.  Recently, I discovered the ease and versatility of the frittata.  Last weekend, I made a frittata for my family on Mother’s Day using ingredients I found in the fridge.

Any frittata will follow the same basic steps:

  1. Preheat oven to broil setting
  2. Beat eggs until pale yellow (about 2 eggs per person)
  3. Stir parmesan into the eggs (optional)
  4. In a heavy bottom oven safe skillet, saute chopped up veggies (and meat, if desired) over medium high heat until tender – I used onions, carrots, bell peppers, and mushrooms
  5. Pour eggs evenly over sautéed veggies. Make sure the whole mixture is evenly distributed on the pan.
  6. Let cook for about 5 minutes, letting the bottom of the mixture set
  7. Sprinkle desired fresh herbs or delicate veggies, like green onions
  8. Place skillet into oven and broil for about 2-4 minutes, until cooked through
  9. Carefully remove from plan, slice, and serve!

This is a great dish to make for guests because it’s quick, requires little effort, and can be made with almost any veggie. I like to serve mine up with sliced avocado.  Just make a pitcher of mimosas and you’re ready for brunch!

One comment

Leave a Reply

