Homemade Granola

Homemade Granola, via Dressed In Orange

During the week, I like to keep breakfast pretty simple.  I usually eat when I get to work (just to be able to sleep in a little longer), so my options are limited to what I can assemble at my desk.  Parfaits made with greek yogurt, fresh blueberries, and homemade granola have become a staple.  A lot of store-bought granola tend to be high in sugar and fat, making your breakfast not-so-healthy.  Making your own granola let’s you control the quantity and quality of the ingredients.  I made an oil-free, honey-sweetened granola recipe which is much healthier and still tastes delicious.

Homemade Granola, via Dressed In Orange

As an oil substitute, I used fresh squeezed orange juice.  This gave the granola a mild citrus flavor and also kept the oats from drying out. And instead of using brown or white sugar, I sweetened my granola with honey.  Make sure you’re using real honey – it makes such a difference.

Because granola is very experiment-friendly, try out different nuts, seeds, and dried fruits to see what you like best.  The steps will still be the same.   I used this recipe as a base, but made adjustments along the way to better suit my taste.

Homemade Granola, via Dressed In Orange

Parfait with homemade granola, via Dressed In Orange

I think my next batch will include shredded coconut and sunflower seeds.  Do you have any favorite granola ingredients?

2 comments

Leave a Reply

