Homemade Pickles

Homemade pickles | Dressed In Orange

While browsing through Omnivore Books (a bookstore just for food and drink, conveniently located down the street from my apartment!), I came across Make the Bread, Buy the Butter.  I heard great things about this book a few years ago, but never really looked into it.  It’s filled with recipes and advice for making foods at home from scratch and some information on what isn’t worth the effort.  As I flipped through the pages, I was inspired to begin my own series of homemade experiments. First up, pickles.

Referencing techniques and recipes from a variety of sources, including David Chang’s Momofuku, I improvised with ingredients and proportions.  I used equal parts vinegar and water, added sea salt, coriander seeds, peppercorns, brown mustard seeds, fresh dill, and whole garlic.  I put everything in a jar and let them sit in the refrigerator for a few weeks, testing them every week or so.  The result was surprisingly good – especially for a ‘recipe’ that was thrown together.  Next time, I’m going to add carrots, white onions, and jalapeños to the mix.  Pickling has proven to be pretty simple, so I’ll have to try pickling other things. (I’m suddenly reminded of this Portlandia sketch).

Do you have any tips on making pickles at home?

Homemade pickles | Dressed In Orange

Homemade pickles | Dressed In Orange

2 comments

Leave a Reply

