Taryn Crepe Shift: One Dress for Two Seasons

Maeve Taryn Crepe Shift, via Dressed in Orange

Well, it has been a while since I chimed in on the blog, but this dress is simply too good not to share! A couple weeks ago I was looking for a classic knee-length dress, special enough for my birthday dinner and that could also be re-styled and layered through the fall and winter. I also wanted a dress with sleeves since I have so many sundresses in my closet, which hardly get worn since it is perennially chilly here in San Francisco (at night especially). What I ended up finding was this great Taryn Crepe Shift at Anthropologie.

Anthro has a bunch of amazing dresses in store right now, but I chose this one because it is not too short, can be worn loose (but looks great with a belt), and has 3/4 length sleeves so your body isn’t overwhelmed in fabric volume. The dress also has an interesting shape despite being a shift dress, thanks to the front yolk with pleats underneath, and the wide band at the hem which gives some structure to the skirt. I love both the blue and black versions, but after buying both and trying them on at home with good lighting and accessories, I realized the blue is less necessary in my closet than the black, so it went back to the store. (A hard decision, trust me!)

I have ended up wearing this dress out to dinner several times since, and I love that the simple shape and color works with all my favorite accessories: a leopard print belt, green teardrop earrings, and my trustworthy pave link bracelet. I’m also excited by the upcoming cool temps, since I already plan to slip this dress on with polka dot tights, booties, and my new favorite fall scarf.

Please share: have you added any transitional staples to your closet lately? Next on my list are a pair of black knee high boots, to give my treasured brown pair a rest every now and then.  : )

Leave a Reply

