Deviled Eggs

Deviled Eggs | Dressed In Orange

As long as I can remember, deviled eggs have been a staple hors d’oeuvre at every family party.  For my family’s annual Christmas Eve dinner, I made the familiar dish but switched up the egg-cooking technique for the first time.  Instead of hard boiling, I used Alton Brown’s oven method.  It’s hard to say if it actually made a difference, but it was fun to experiment with a new way of hard cooking eggs.

Deviled Eggs | Dressed In Orange

Deviled Eggs | Dressed In Orange

 

  1. Hard cook your eggs by boiling or baking.
  2. After letting cooked eggs sit in an ice cold water bath for 15 minutes, peel and slice eggs in half lengthwise.
  3. Scoop out the yolks and place them in a bowl. Add mayo, spicy dijon mustard, chopped up gherkins, salt, and pepper al to taste. I don’t have the precise measurements for this, but I usually add a spoonful of mayo and mustard at a time until I get the consistency I like.  Unlike traditional recipes, I typically use more mustard than mayo for a spicier and tangier taste.
  4. Spoon mixture into a ziplock bag with a small 1/4″ corner cut out.
  5. Carefully pipe the mixture into each egg half.
  6. Dust with paprika.

Deviled Eggs | Dressed In Orange

Deviled Eggs | Dressed In Orange

Deviled Eggs | Dressed In Orange

One comment

Leave a Reply

